Current exhibition

Street. Life. Photography – Seven Decades of Street Photography

12.09.2020–10.01.2021

Street photography depicts public life in metropolitan centres. It shows everyday scenes and escapades, commerce and individuality, comedy and tragedy, political engagement and social change. It portrays single people who seem to merge into the crowds, creating a sense of both proximity and distance. The diversity of urban spaces and their inherent dynamism have always offered countless opportunities for photographers to capture the city’s spectacle and drama.

The exhibition Street. Life. Photography presents around 220 works by thirty-six international photographers made over the last seventy years. These works present a variety of different perspectives on urban life, while also showcasing the art of taking photographs on the street and in the city. How have photographers viewed the city and its inhabitants both now and in the past? To what extent is our understanding of public and private space and our relationship to our urban environment reflected in their works? How have views of the city – and thus also the genre of street photography – changed over the course of time?

In this exhibition, international contemporary photographers like Maciej Dakowicz, Loredana Nemes and Harri Pälviranta are contrasted with historical positions such as those of Diane Arbus, Lee Friedlander, William Klein, Harry Callahan and Lisette Model. This comparison of historical and contemporary works enables visitors to appreciate key trends and important technical, conceptual and aesthetic developments. The exhibition is divided into five kaleidoscopically arranged sections with different thematic approaches. The specific focuses on Street Life, Crashes, Public Transfer, Anonymity and Alienation highlight surprising and sometimes strange connections.

PHOTO RALLY

Photo Rally offers a digital street photography experience in public space. In a game that can be played on a smartphone or tablet, participants go on a photographic foray and take pictures of their own observations and encounters in urban space. The game Photo Rally offers an insight into the exhibition Street. Life. Photography and combines those insights with a variety of photography tasks. The rally can be played anywhere and works independently of the exhibition visit. Also suitable for families.

Get Photo Rally here.

Street. Life. Photography. Seven Decades of Street Photography. An exhibition by Haus der Photographie / Deichtorhallen Hamburg with works from the F. C. Gundlach Collection, Hamburg, hosted at Fotomuseum Winterthur. The exhibition was curated by Dr Sabine Schnakenberg (Deichtorhallen Hamburg). Nadine Wietlisbach and her team added additional elements to stimulate further reflection.

Supported by: Walter Haefner Stiftung, Else v. Sick Stiftung, S. Eustachius-Stiftung, Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung, Elisabeth Weber-Stiftung, Abteilung Kultur Basel-Stadt and Dr. Georg und Josi Guggenheim-Stiftung

Natan Dvir, Juicy Couture 01, Coming Soon, 2008-2014 © Natan Dvir

More
Less

Events

Aktuelle Ausstellung

Street. Life. Photography – Street Photography aus sieben Jahrzehnten

12.09.2020–10.01.2021

Die Street Photography bildet das öffentliche Leben in Grossstädten ab. Sie zeigt Alltagsleben und Eskapaden, Kommerz und Individualität, Komik und Tragik, politische Auseinandersetzung und gesellschaftliche Veränderung. Sie porträtiert einzelne Personen, die in der Masse scheinbar untergehen, schafft Nähe sowie Distanz. Die Vielfalt des urbanen Raums und seine spannungsvollen Facetten bieten Fotograf_innen seit jeher unzählige Möglichkeiten der fotografischen Inszenierung.

Die Ausstellung Street. Life. Photography zeigt rund 220 Arbeiten von 36 internationalen Fotograf_innen, die in den letzten siebzig Jahren entstanden sind. Die Werke eröffnen den Besucher_innen unterschiedliche Perspektiven auf das urbane Leben aber auch auf das Fotografieren im Strassen- und Stadtraum. Wie beobachten Fotograf_innen damals wie heute die Stadt und ihre Bewohner_innen? Inwiefern spiegelt sich unser Verständnis von öffentlichem und privatem Raum und unsere Beziehung zur urbanen Umgebung in den Werken wider? Wie hat sich der Blick auf die Stadt und mit ihm die Street Photography als solche im Lauf der Zeit verändert?

In der Ausstellung treffen internationale zeitgenössische Fotograf_innen wie Maciej Dakowicz, Loredana Nemes und Harri Pälviranta auf historische Positionen wie Diane Arbus, Lee Friedlander, William Klein, Harry Callahan und Lisette Model. Die Gegenüberstellung historischer und zeitgenössischer Arbeiten ermöglicht es den Besucher_innen zentrale Tendenzen und wichtige technische, konzeptionelle und ästhetische Entwicklungen der Street Photography nachzuvollziehen. Fünf kaleidoskopartig angelegte Kapitel gliedern die Ausstellung und eröffnen verschiedene thematische Zugänge. Die Themenfelder Street Life, Crashes, Public Transfer, Anonymity und Alienation zeigen verblüffende, zum Teil kuriose Zusammenhänge auf.

FOTO-RALLYE

Die Foto-Rallye bietet eine digitale Erlebnistour im öffentlichen Raum zur Ausstellung. Im Rahmen eines Spiels, das auf dem Smartphone oder Tablet gespielt werden kann, begeben sich Teilnehmer_innen auf einen fotografischen Streifzug und inszenieren eigene Beobachtungen und Begegnungen im urbanen Raum. Die Foto-Rallye vermittelt auf spielerische und interaktive Weise Inhalte aus der Ausstellung Street. Life. Photography und verbindet sie mit vielseitigen Fotografier-Aufgaben. Die Rallye kann überall gespielt werden und funktioniert unabhängig vom Ausstellungsbesuch. Auch für Familien geeignet.

Die Foto-Rallye ist hier erhältlich

Street. Life. Photography. Street Photography aus sieben Jahrzehnten. Eine Ausstellung des Hauses der Photographie/Deichtorhallen Hamburg u.a. mit Werken aus der Sammlung F.C. Gundlach, Hamburg zu Gast im Fotomuseum Winterthur. Die Ausstellung wurde von Sabine Schnakenberg (Deichtorhallen Hamburg) kuratiert. Für die Ausstellung in Winterthur haben Nadine Wietlisbach und ihr Team zusätzliche reflexive Elemente ergänzt.

Mit Unterstützung von: Walter Haefner Stiftung, Else v. Sick Stiftung, S. Eustachius-Stiftung, Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung, Elisabeth Weber-Stiftung, Abteilung Kultur Basel-Stadt und Dr. Georg und Josi Guggenheim-Stiftung

Natan Dvir, Juicy Couture 01, Coming Soon, 2008-2014 © Natan Dvir

Mehr
Weniger

Veranstaltungen


Führungen