P3: Post-Photography Prototyping Prize 2018


In collaboration with the Julius Baer Foundation

P3 is a biennial prize that supports artists, creative technologists and researchers questioning the changing role of photographic media. Initiated in 2016 by Fotomuseum Winterthur in collaboration with the Julius Baer Foundation, P3 sets out to define the field of ‘post-photography’ and to engage with photography’s shifting roles in contemporary culture.

In 2018, the second edition of the Post-Photography Prototyping Prize (P3) encouraged interdisciplinarity and collaboration, bringing artists, technologists and researchers together to address specific issues that underlie the changes in contemporary photographic culture. Academics, visual artists and creative coders joined forces to reflect on social and technological transformations within current image production, distribution and consumption. Their joint explorations resulted in a series of prototypes – sketches and drafts, unfinished works and proofs of concepts, visualizations and mockups.

Nadine Wietlisbach (Director, Fotomuseum Winterthur), Marco De Mutiis (Digital Curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur) and Katrina Sluis (Curator of the Digital Programme, The Photographers’ Gallery) have shortlisted fifteen finalists from a pool of artists and scholars nominated by an international selection of experts. Finalists were selected based on their artistic practice and research interest, and grouped into five thematically defined teams: Seeing Machines, Social Exchange, Generative Photography, Digital Labour and the Networked Image.

They met physically in London on 14 May 2018, where they had one day to collaboratively create prototypes that critically, playfully and provocatively engage with the designated themes. The following day the teams presented the result of their efforts in front of the public and the jury.

The presentation of the prototypes and award ceremony took place on 15 May 2018 at The Photographers’ Gallery in London.

The winners of the prize are Adam Brown (GB), Tabea Iseli (CH) and Alan Warburton (GB), who formed the team “Generative Photography”. In their prototype, Adam Brown, Tabea Iseli and Alan Warburton developed an interactive play-environment, focusing on a conceptual and speculative take on wildlife photography. The jury awarded the team “Generative Photography” with a unanimous decision. The jurors appreciated the prototype’s engagement with the history of photography, and photography’s kinship with other media, while also offering a reflection on the phenomenon of the photographic today, including an original commentary on the role of the photographer and the act of capture. The project contains critical elements that fully address the implications of the assigned topic – combined with a playful approach which is both subtle and subversive, demanding the audience to reflect on their position as photographic spectators and agents. Finally the team’s presentation demonstrated a genuine spirit of collaboration and a sense of learning from one another.

Public programme

Tuesday, 15 May, 2018, 2.30 p.m. – 9.00 p.m.
Location: Photographers‘ Gallery, London

2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.: Introduction and keynote speech by Joanna Zylinska
3:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.: Presentations by P3 finalists
6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.: Reception
7:30 p.m.: Award Ceremony

Watch all the presentations here.


Seeing Machines

Katriona Beales (GB)
Geoff Cox (GB/DK)
Mario Klingemann (DE)

Social Exchange

Bogosi Sekhukhuni (ZA)
Maddy Varner (US)
Nina Wakeford (GB)

Generative Photography

Adam Brown (GB)
Tabea Iseli (CH)
Alan Warburton (GB)

Digital Labour

Manetta Berends (NL)
Nicolas Malevé (BE/GB)
Sebastian Schmieg (DE)

The Networked Image

Ramon Amaro (GB)
Anthon Astrom (CH)
Dina Kelberman (US)


Delphine Bedel (NL), Monica Bello (CH), Ann-Christin Bertrand (DE), Alain Bieber (DE), Matteo Bittanti (IT), Melanie Buehler (US), Sarah Cook (CA), Alfredo Cramerotti (GB), Matteo Cremonesi (IT), Ursula Damm (DE), Marco De Mutiis (CH), Raffael Dörig (CH), Florian Ebner (DE), Doris Gassert (CH), Marvin Heiferman (US), Sabine Himmelsbach (CH), Yuk Yiu Ip (HK), Milo Keller (CH), Kati Kivinen (FI), Fabian Knierim (AT), Tina Kukielski (US), Elise Lammer (DE), Markus Löffler (DE), Alessandro Ludovico (GB), Boris Magrini (CH), Aymeric Mansoux (NL), Eva and Franco Mattes (US), Fabio Paris (IT), Simon Pummell (GB), Rolf Quaghebeur (BE), Domenico Quaranta (IT), Katrina Sluis (GB), Jari-Pekka Vanhala (FI), Nadine Wietlisbach (CH)

Nadine Wietlisbach (Director Fotomuseum Winterthur), Marco De Mutiis (Digital Curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur), Katrina Sluis (Curator of the Digital Programme, The Photographers’ Gallery), Barbara Staubli (Curator, Julius Baer Art Collection) and Joanna Zylinska (Professor of New Media and Communications, Goldsmiths, University of London)

With further support by Wallace Space and The Photographers’ Gallery.